Leaders of Color: Alumni Profile

Leaders of Color
3 min readApr 1, 2021
Leaders of Color alumna Constance Barnes, PMP is Director of Knowledge & Partnerships at The Knowledge House

The Leaders of Color program launched in 2018 to elevate the tremendous talent of community-based leaders of color. Since then, 81 leaders have emerged from the program ready to bring change to their communities. These are their stories.

Constance Barnes is a powerhouse with experience and expertise in education, advocacy, criminal justice reform, and technology. Constance works to uplift and support communities that have been under-resourced. In this interview, Constance shares how the Leaders of Color program helped her think about herself and her future.

Q: When did you join Leaders of Color?

A: I joined Leaders of Color in 2020 in New York City.

Q: Why did you apply to be part of the Leaders of Color program? What inspires you to get involved in civic leadership?

A: After meeting with Dr. Damary Bonilla-Rodriguez (Leaders of Color New York Director) to discuss my pursuit of a doctoral program, we shared so much about our passion for educational reform and uplifting our communities. It was in that conversation that she invited me to join. Being a member of the cohort has raised my awareness of issues in my community and pushed me into more activism work.

Q: Did the program help you in your career or with leadership opportunities? How are you thinking about your future based on what you experience with Leaders of Color?

A: The greatest support comes from the Leaders of Color mentors and coaches who support your ideas in every way possible. Prior to joining Leaders of Color, pursuing my doctorate was a thought that I hadn’t pursued with intensity. Today, I’ve applied to 6 programs and received acceptance to 2 thus far. I have been pushed to use my voice to share my thoughts around democratizing education and participated in conferences and panels during my fellowship. Lastly, my cohort was such a great support as I navigated salary negotiations last year for a new position and more recently I’ve accepted another role that I worked hard for with my Leaders of Color coach.

Q: What sticks out for you about your Leaders of Color experience?

A: While applying for positions at the Executive Director and C-suite levels, I chatted with my coach about being in the presence of “powerhouses.” He quickly reminded me that I too am a powerhouse! That really changed my perspective and as I started applying to more roles and changed my resume, I had an a-ha moment that I have done significant work in the field of education and that is reason to be proud of myself.

Q: What advice do you have for people who are thinking about becoming leaders of their own communities?

A: Do it! Those who are closest to the problem are the best equipped to solve the problems. We can never have too many passionate advocates for equality in our community.

Q: Please share your favorite inspiring quote!

A: “You can’t be what you can’t see!” — Marian Wright Edelman, founder and president emerita of the Children’s Defense Fund

--

--

Leaders of Color

We identify, train, and support Black and Hispanic civic leaders.